RSS

Daily Archives: February 28, 2014

PRAYER OF COMMITMENT

PRAYER OF COMMITMENT

06500_all_04-06-praying-Rahmen-1Our lives are as much a sign of contradiction against Jesus as they are a witness to Him. The ways of the world have a hold on our lives, and often enough, we separate ourselves from the Lord. That’s why Scripture urges us to set our minds “on things that are above” (Colossians 3:2).

Through this simple prayer of commitment, we have the chance to make a world of difference in our lives and in the lives of those around us. Each morning, all we have to do is say: “Jesus, I commit my life to You. You have the words of eternal life. I ask You to protect me and my family today. Help me as I try to stay close to You.” Let us say the prayer just as we are waking up, during our morning prayer time, or as we and our families are beginning to set out the door for work and school.

Then, every night, just before going to sleep, let us make a similar prayer of commitment: “Jesus, I commit my life to you again. I am sorry for the sins I committed today. I ask You for forgiveness and for a peaceful night’s sleep.”

Some people include other prayers and Scripture passages along with their morning prayer of commitment. Others like to review their day – the good and the bad – before making their nighttime commitment. However we do it, let us consecrate our lives to Jesus the first thing each morning and the last thing each night. Then let’s watch as God’s grace moves us to place Jesus in the forefront of our lives and increases our spiritual health and well-being.

Jakarta, 28 February 2014

A Christian Pilgrim

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 28, 2014 in TODAY'S THOUGHT 2014

 

Tags: , ,