RSS

SPIRITUAL MAXIMS OF PADRE PIO

23 Sep

SPIRITUAL MAXIMS OF PADRE PIO  

 [1]Through the study of books one seeks God; by meditation one finds Him.” 

[2] “The life of a Christian is nothing but a perpetual  struggle against self; there is no flowering of the soul to the beauty of its perfection except at the price of pain.” 

[3]  “Whoever does not meditate is like someone who never looks in the mirror before going out, doesn’t bother to see if he’s today, and may go out dirty without knowing it. The person who meditates and turns his mind to God, who is the mirror of his soul, seeks to know his fault, tries to correct them, moderates his impulses, and puts his conscience in order.” 

[4] “If we are calm and persevering, we shall find not only ourselves, but our souls, and with that, God Himself.” 

[5] “The demon has only one door by which to enter into our soul: the will; there are no secret doors. No sin is a sin if not committed with the will. When there is no action of the will, there is no sin, but only human weakness.” 

[6] “God enriches the soul which empties itself of everything.” 

[7] “In the spiritual life one must always go on pushing ahead and never go backwards; if not, the same thing happens as to a boat which when it loses headway gets  blown backwards with the wind.” 

[8]  “It is not a loss of patience if one asks Jesus to take away pain, when this becomes insupportable to us and beyond our strength, nor does one lose the merit of the suffering which is offered, by asking this of God.” 

[9]  “A good heart is always strong, it suffers, but with tears it is consoled by sacrificing itself for its neighbor and for God.” 

[10] “Love and fear must go united together, fear without love becomes cowardice. Love without fear becomes presumption. When there is love without fear, love runs without prudence and without restraint, without taking care where it is going.” 

[11] “Where there is no obedience there is no virtue, where there is no virtue there is no good, where there is no good there is no love, where there is no love, there is no God, and where there is no god there is no Paradise.” 

[12] “Time spent in honor of God and for the salvation of souls is never badly spent.” 

[13]  “Keep well dug into your minds the words of Our Lord: In patience you will possess your soul.” 

[14] “Pray that God will console you when you feel the burden of the Cross, for in doing so you are in no way acting against the will of God, but you are placing yourself beside the Son of God who asked His Father during the Agony in the Garden to send Him some relief. But if He is not willing to give it be ready to pronounce the same ‘Fiat,’ ‘So be it,’  that Jesus did.” 

[15] “Those strong and generous in heart do not complain except for a strong reason, and even then it does not affect them intimately.” 

Jakarta, September 23, 2010 [Memorial of Saint ‘Padre Pio’ of Pietrelcina]

Compiled by A Christian Pilgrim

 
 

11 responses to “SPIRITUAL MAXIMS OF PADRE PIO

  1. Rev.John Vadakkummoola,Kalichanadkam Post,Nileshwar(Via)Kerala,India-671314.

    September 24, 2010 at 7:03 pm

    Thank u Fr.Indrapradja SFO for this help on reflections of St.Padre Pio .It is a honor for Padre Pio on his Feast Day-23rd Sept,set from Jakarta,capital of Indonesia.
    Happy Feast of St.PADRE PIO.****May God Bless us all with a better World for Peace
    Fr.John Vadakkummoola

     
    • achristianpilgrim

      September 25, 2010 at 1:43 pm

      Dear Rev. John Vadakkummoola,
      Thank you for your very positive comments. Padre Pio is very much loved in Indonesia too. Happy feast of St. Padre Pio to you also. Yes, let us proclaim the Good News of Love & Peace to the world.

      Your brother in Christ,

      Bro. F.X. Indrapradja, SFO

       
  2. sharon fernandes

    September 25, 2010 at 6:28 pm

    YOUR EXCELLENCY “BISHOP PAUL HINDER”

    Mrs.Sharon Sarita Michael Fernandes -Indian national from Mumbai but in Dubai since ten years + married husband Michael Fernandes, 15years old son Savio schooling back home in Mumbai.

    I take this opportunity of introducing myself witnessing mother Mary at the age of seven but never shared about that image and would always come, go never knew what it had meant to me for all I remember as a girl I was very fond of reciting the rosary and visiting Don Bosco Shrine –Matunga every Saturday with my mom as the years went.

    Got married in the year 1992 in 1993 – I came to Dubai but not in prayers as usual a regular parishioner coming , going to church but in the year 2000 I was introduced to the Blue Army group of our lady Fatima in Dubai through a friend who has gone back for good to GOA for she had invited me for the prayer meeting and I was refusing to go but I went half way through the prayers I was touched with the prayers and one Friday after 3 months I met the leader Sr.Gloria Farria with Sr.Jane in the church as usual greeted them in the church compound that time sr.gloria said Sharon please come for our prayer meeting on Thursday and I said NO though the prayers are very powerful I am touched but I will only come if I could have the prayer meeting in my house and she said why not but there was a problem I was sharing with an old couple who are no more there in uae and the old uncle had objection would say go to church and pray no having meetings in my house and twice he refused and one Thursday his wife approved for he was to be admitted in the Makhtoum hospital and there I had the opportunity to have the blue army prayer meeting became a member and my foundation of prayers to our lady begun once again and mother Mary brought the vision back and reminded of the rosary and in 1997 when I had been to India for a day retreat at the Kalyan Tabor Divine centre in Mumbai I brought one rosary costing Rs.15 and then a second rosary came from Rev.Fr..Cyprian and today I have more than 50 rosaries + from all over the country and shrines as my devotion to our lady.

    In this time Rev.Fr.Errol Fernandes sj conducted a Lenten retreat in the year 2006 , on the last day said he would request all the priest to anoint us with oil and on that day I went to Rev.Fr.Varghese Chempoly not knowing anything about him all I could feel the heat coming from his hand while anointing me and I was very anxious to know what it meant and then I met him after a long time told him he said praise god anointing of the holy spirit and that time I asked him would you bless the Blue army of our group on a Thursday he said I don’t have time and exactly after 4 months he said I am coming on this Thursday I was thrilled took him to bless my house then my friends house name Delwin & Sandra Kostka and on that day was the prayer meeting Thursday .

    All I remember exchanging telephone number and email id with Rev.Fr.Varghese and the very next day at the 4.30 Pm mass – I felt the presence of St.Padre Pio during the doxology and he revealed to me appoint Rev.Fr.Varghese as your SPIRITUAL DIRECTOR I was confused after mass but overlooked it for I was busy with the transport ministry and I did get hold of him but he said Sharon I am very busy no time I have to leave for Rome you send me an email well I said he never gave me that opportunity to share the very next day I sent him an email proposing him to be my spiritual director I never knew anything about him but I am very happy and thanking the lord the day he was at Saint Padre Pio Shrine he replied to my email and agreed to be my spiritual director then I took appointments started telling him about certain deliverances my personal life and very happy thank mother Mary ,st.padre pio.,st.sharbel,st,Anthony all the angel and saint with his Blessing Spiritual Guidance Counseling And Confession I completed my Catechesis training at St.Mary`s church then Bible Course with Rev.Fr.Fio mascherhanas sj in Mumbai, over there another miracle I was wanting communion to give as an love offering to our church in Dubai and so hectic the bible classes was over there I got introduced to Rev.Fr.Vijay Colaco –sj shared with me my experiences and in this conversation I told I need communion and I could not believe that things went so smoothly like JESUS was with me through my Journey . Also many other families has met and experienced his warmth of the holy spirit whenever I have guided them to Rev.Fr.Varghese Chempoly (spiritual director) .

    The reason I had to share this matter with you Excellency for today being Maundy Thursday 20th March 2008, again I saw St.padre Pio at mass (DOXILOGY) for Rev.Fr.Varghese was the main celebrant telling me witness your spiritual director –Rev.Fr.Varghese .C . to be very frank I was in doubts and I could not believe this I meet him after an hour in the church compound as usual I go for a blessing and I informed him hence I am taking this opportunity of giving my TESTIMONY please pray for me for I was also wanting a Spiritual Director ( Deliverance ) and since I had been to Mumbai in the month of January 2008 to pray for JOSEPH family ,also went to the 5 days retreat of discipline and discernment (silent retreat) with Rev.Fr.Conrard Saldhana (diocese) at his retreat during the DOXILOIGY I experienced the divine mercy Jesus with the scroll word Spiritual Director (deliverance) as usual I was in doubt but the lord proved to me for I was the first person to give him peace hug at MASS and I shared with him told him and he has agreed for sometime I do meet people who are attacked but I do not want to overrule the Roman Catholic Church Law in my hands without informing you –Your Excellency Bishop Paul Hinder.

    Thank you, may you bless me and my intentions as you read my testimony witnessing Rev.Fr.Varghese Chempoly OFM CAP –Happy and thank the lord to bless the family and me to get such a caring Spiritual Director

    God Bless

    Sharon Fernandes
    050 5747684

     
    • achristianpilgrim

      September 26, 2010 at 2:48 am

      Dear Sister Sharon,
      A very touching witnessing, indeed! May God always bless you in your way of discipleship of Jesus Christ. Never forget Mother Mary and all the His Saints such as Padre Pio, St. Francis, and many others, in your earthly pilgrimage to our heavenly Father. My warm regards to your Spiritual Director, my brother Fr. Varghese Chempoly, OFMCap.

      Your brother in Christ,

      F.X. Indrapradja, SFO

       
  3. Christine Clarke

    September 26, 2010 at 2:25 am

    Thank you,and God bless you.Beautiful words,and so true! Padro Pio so loved,let us all try to follow his example.Love Christine

     
    • achristianpilgrim

      September 27, 2010 at 1:23 am

      Dear Sister Christine,

      God bless you too, sister. Padre Pio is indeed so loved by us, Indonesian Catholics. Please pray for our country, my dear Sister. Thank you.

      Your brother in Christ,

      Bro. F.X. Indrapradja, SFO

       
  4. Mathew A.M

    September 26, 2010 at 3:54 am

    St.Padre Pio is a great saint of modern century. People are who have seen him ,worked with him and lived with him. Those people really blessed people.

     
    • achristianpilgrim

      September 26, 2010 at 5:38 am

      Dear Brother Matthew,

      Entirely agree with you. Praise the LORD!

      Your brother in Christ,

      F.X. Indrapradja, SFO

       
  5. Shin

    September 27, 2010 at 8:32 am

    Good quotes!

    “You must be modest in speech, modest in laughter, modest in your bearing, modest in walking. All this must be practiced, not out of vanity in order to display one’s self, nor out of hypocrisy in order to appear to be good to the eyes of others, but rather, for the internal virtue of modesty, which regulates the external workings of the body. ”

    St. Padre Pio

    “The Church is the house of God. It is forbidden for men to enter with bare arms or in shorts. It is forbidden for women to enter in trousers, without a veil on their head, in short clothing, low necklines, sleeveless or immodest dresses.”

    – Sign on the door of San Giovanni Rotondo

     
    • achristianpilgrim

      September 28, 2010 at 1:19 am

      Dear Brother (Sister?) Shin,

      Thank you for your supportive brief comments. Also, thank you very much for the additional quotes; they are very inspiring.

      Your brother in Christ,

      Bro. F.X Indrapradja, SFO

       

Leave a Reply

 
